阅览室

有时,我们居于幕后,协调、促进新闻的发生
有时,我们走上舞台,创造新闻

Reading Room
“一天无艺术”(DWA)活动鼓励年轻人思考艾滋病问题

“一天无艺术”(DWA)活动鼓励年轻人思考艾滋病问题

作者: 林琳
来源: sino-us.com
2013年12月03日

为了吸引中国青年进行艺术创作并向死于艾滋病的天才艺术家们致敬,美国驻华大使馆与美国艺术机构和当地美术馆合作,于12月1日,即世界艾滋病日在北京举办了“一天无艺术”的海报制作展。两姐妹美光和凯茜来自纽约,他们代表一个驻北京的美国艺术机构ChART Contemporary,她们的宗旨是连接人和艺术。 链接

“一天无艺术”(DWA)活动接受侨报网报道

“一天无艺术”(DWA)活动接受侨报网报道

作者: 林琳
来源: 侨报网
2013年12月02日

“一天无艺术”活动中有200多个来自于福利机构、打工子弟学校和外语学校的中学生参与了DWA防艾滋病宣传海报的制作。活动开始后,学生被鼓励在这面墙上画下他们对于艾滋病和“一日无艺术”这一主题的感想。在这样的交流活动中,中国的年轻人会被激发,然后思索自己将来可以为这一全球性问题作些什么。 链接

“一天无艺术”(DWA)活动接受CCTV采访

“一天无艺术”(DWA)活动接受CCTV采访

报道: Teressa Siu
来源: CCTV
2013年12月01日

200多名学生参与到一个纪念世界艾滋病日的特殊艺术活动中来。这次活动的组织者是两个美国姐妹,凯茜和美光,她们认为中国的年轻一代有一个重要的任务,同时她们有一个共同目标,通过艺术来推广艾滋病意识。她们主要针对对象是高中生,他们对于未来有真正的发言权。 链接

艺术眼Artspy.cn报道样板间展览

艺术眼Artspy.cn报道样板间展览

来源: Artspy.cn
2013年11月22日

《样板间》通过一系列精心策划的项目,体现了ChART Contemporary连接人与艺术的理念,旨在促进与支持新锐艺术家的艺术创作。《样板间》在一些出租的、销售的、遗弃的或即将拆除的空间内,用一个下午的时间展出新的艺术作品。尽管中文里无法找到一个和美国的 Open House 相对应的概念,“样板间”这个词所表达的含义已经十分接近:即以公众消费为目的的房地产展示。 链接

独生子女政策在北京的艺术遗产

独生子女政策在北京的艺术遗产

作者: Debra Bruno
来源: 华尔街日报“风尚亚洲”栏目
2013年11月22日

就在中国政府宣布放宽独生子女政策之际,一个审视独生子女体验的全新艺术展览将在北京举办。展览将通过艺术家的视角聚焦与他同代的孤独孩子…… 链接

激励我吧!在中国奋斗的企业家们!

激励我吧!在中国奋斗的企业家们!

作者: Sarah Ting-Ting Hou
来源: 城市周报A
2013年9月

在艺术界,天分与才能的竞争极其残酷。千千万万个无名的艺术家们做着成名梦。Connolly姐妹现已活跃在中国三个重要城市,并且计划向全球发展。我们期待未来的挑战与机遇。 链接

ChART 玩转798的独门秘籍

ChART 玩转798的独门秘籍

作者: Sandra Ramani
来源: Premier Traveler USA
2013年4月

…对Connonlly姐妹来说, 798的有趣之处取决于你对艺术的个人喜好,以及当时有什么展览… 但是佩斯画廊总不会让你失望。 它相通的大小展示厅十分适合展出大型装置艺术。意大利画廊常青画廊则是以展览和画廊建筑本身的前卫性而著称。Connolly解释道… 链接

目的地/2013年

目的地/2013年

作者: Sandra Ramani
来源: Houston magazine
2013年1月02日

...能错过的艺术区,798艺术区是北京最热闹的文化区域.... ChART定期会在这展开步行团体观光,不管是艺术老专家还是艺术也与爱好者都能够从中获益。 链接

中国艺术家刘勃麟: 网上那个“看不见的人”

中国艺术家刘勃麟: 网上那个“看不见的人”

作者: Dan Levin
来源: 《新闻周刊》杂志
2012年10月15日

…作为一名艺术家,刘勃麟的多才多艺使他能够很好的达到技巧和理念上的平衡,也吸引了诸多收藏家的关注,例如美光,一家位于北京的艺术咨询工作室ChART Contemporary的总监… 链接

艺术的工作

艺术的工作

作者: Lisa Nash
来源: 爱见达杂志
2012年8月9日

…一对爱涂粉色口红的纽约姐妹花,凯西(左)和美光(右)姐妹现在已经投身到了北京五光十色的艺术圈。她们奇妙的艺术工作室ChART Contemporary本身就像一件艺术品,充满着挑战与未知,并且不断改变着当今人们对于北京现代艺术的理解… 链接

Beijing's 798 District and unexpected artistic enclave

Beijing's 798 District and unexpected artistic enclave

作者: Ben Roussel
来源: Travel Weekly
2011年12月20日

CHART Experience在美国旅游界知名周报《Travel Weekly》上被高度赞扬!
“不得不承认,我当时还没把时差倒过来,而且我本来对现代艺术也没那么热衷,所以当临时决定去798走走时我有点打憷。幸亏有美光给我做向导,要不然我肯定会一头雾水。 整个798区域有很多画廊,展览也挺多,而且还有各式各样的餐馆,咖啡厅,和活动空间,但布局有些松散,所以对初次造访者来说,有个内行当向导就变得尤其重要。” 链接

The New China is as Enthralling as the Ancient One

The New China is as Enthralling as the Ancient One

作者:Regina Baraban
来源:Meetings Net
2011年12月20日

美光原籍纽约,目前是北京策展组织Chart Contemporary的创办人之一,对亚洲艺术界颇有研究。她与当地的很多高端画廊都有联系,并可以向您全面介绍中国当代艺术的过去和现状。 链接

Fashion Kingdom

Fashion Kingdom

作者:Melinda Liu
来源:新闻周刊
2011年4月3日

“我妈一天到晚都穿着军装,我问他们有没有什么传家宝,几片古董刺绣,反正是老东西就成,但都已经毁掉了。”在时尚方面,付说中国的年轻一代“是靠自学成才的。”他们已经开始把时尚“跟艺术、建筑、设计,甚至汽车,紧密地联系起来,”和妹妹凯西一起在做北京艺术和文化场所导游工作的美光说。“今天的许多中国人就是周身上下都是时尚的玩意。” 链接

未来的另类空间:从现在开始

未来的另类空间:从现在开始

作者:贺潇 | 翻译:杜可柯
来源:艺术界 LEAP
2010年12月

“...ChART Contemporary所呈现的另类空间在艺术家的想法与策展人对该想法的解读之间搭建起一座临时的桥梁,横跨私人和公共空间的界线。样板间对外公开四个小时后装置被撤走。但整件作品昙花一现的四个小时给了观众一段时间和空间,让他们可以从一种不同的角度观看艺术。所谓另类其实很简单,就是通过提供别样选项来挑战现有秩序,这个选项可以是一个固定的物理空间,也可以是若干物理空间展示另一种观念模式...” 链接

中国艺术界的一支力量:2000级的校友美光与她的妹妹以别样的方式带你了解中国当代艺术

中国艺术界的一支力量:2000级的校友美光与她的妹妹以别样的方式带你了解中国当代艺术

作者:Christina Barbara-Just
来源:《史密斯学院女校友季刊》
2010-11冬季刊

“正如美光所言,中国‘文化的新一轮黄金发展’促使ChART迅速成长,姐妹俩已将现代建筑和设计列为新增的观光项目,对将来的展览和艺术项目满怀信心和想法。” 链接

是艺术或不是艺术?这是一个问题

学生们遮盖包裹艺术品纪念世界艾滋病日

文:黄少杰
来源:《环球时报》
2010年12月2日

...“环卫工人孙齐军胸前戴着红丝带,收集垃圾的三轮车后座上贴着宣传贴,他问我们“艾滋病不是美国才有吗?在我们中国不是还没这个病吗?”当地村民高文振现年75岁,好奇地打听艾滋病是否可以治愈。 链接

2010年艾滋病节日一天无艺术在北京

2010年艾滋病节日一天无艺术在北京

文:Andrea Hunt
来源:中国国际广播电台
2010年12月1日

...“每年,我们不仅期待这一行动的规模不断增大,同时希望使当地民众对艾滋病的预防意识得到加强。去年我们大约八十个人到北京的798艺术区开展了活动;今年,我们来到草场地,因为草场地是当地老百姓、艺术家、艺术空间和画廊能真正地共同生存的一个地方。 链接

是艺术或不是艺术?这是一个问题

是艺术或不是艺术?这是一个问题

《小星星》杂志
2010年11月

北京世青国际学校的艺术教师凯茜(KC Vienna Connolly)过去常常带领她的学生参观画廊,可这是她第一次带学生们来看她自己的创作。凯茜此次展出的摄影作品包括一个非常有趣的系列作品,拍摄顾客们在宜家商场待售的床上小憩的场景——作品标题为《北京,就当在家里一样》。这件进行中的项目始于2007年艺术家凯茜第一次光顾北京宜家商场的经历。“中国初现端倪的物质主义,以及对生活方式和时尚潮流产生新的兴趣,这些激发了我的创作。我开始用相机记录那些在不同产品展厅之间徜徉采购的顾客们,并且花很多天的时间泡在北京这个世界第二大的宜家分店里。” 链接

TED Shares Ideas About City and Art Development

TED Shares Ideas About City and Art Development

文/ 李志鑫
来源:《北京青年报英文周报今日北京》
2010年9月17日

“我们深信艺术是属于每个人的,所以我们决定让艺术走出画廊展馆,让那些不好意思走进画廊的人们在外面就能看到艺术”,美光说道。重要的是能够让画廊和艺术圈外的人群得到接触和体验艺术的机会。 链接

BRILLIANT SMALL TALK

BRILLIANT SMALL TALK

文/ Vera Penêda
来源:《环球时报》
2010年9月14日

……作为第一届TEDxFactory798在北京的活动,这些睿思人物本周六在798艺术区尤伦斯当代艺术中心所做的演讲让本地听众耳目一新,深受启发。台上四位演讲者以“两个世界的边缘”为主题,限时十八分钟展示每个人的敏锐思维锋芒,七十位受邀到场的听众领教了充溢活力的思维如何风行改变世界。 链接

TED X FACTORY 798

TED X FACTORY 798

文/ 程涵与周易
2010年9月11日

美光和凯茜将就“样板间”系列项目做主题演讲,该项目利用北京租赁的、待售的或者废弃的建筑物空间作为展览场地,向公众呈现艺术新秀的最新作品。这些生发于中国工业现代化图景中的艺术展览,为我们铺开房地产作为公共消费品的话题,探讨它与中国当代艺术产业的相似性。 链接

样板间

样板间

文/ 欧美琳
来源:艺讯中国
2010年9月6日

ARTINFO上周五报道了“样板间”——美国姐妹策展人美光和凯茜(Megan and KC Connolly)发起的新锐艺术家推介活动。 链接

陈可开启了一间自己的房间

陈可开启了一间自己的房间

文/ Madeleine O’Dea
来源:The Beijinger
2010年5月

“‘样板间’是美国姐妹策展人美光与凯茜策划的项目。厌倦了普通的展览方式后,她们带来了另一个主意。她们知道北京不缺待拆迁或是待租的空房子。” 链接 (第51页)

体验“样板间”,梳理艺术体验

体验“样板间”,梳理艺术体验

文/ Lara Farrar
来源:China Daily
2010年4月12日

“近期一个周日早晨的9:41,一则手机消息流传开来:‘请来芳园西路,阳光金街市场右侧,U&D首饰店左侧,近雕刻时光咖啡馆地下20A。请致电寻求帮助。时间:下午2至6点。’收到消息的人一个接一个到了那儿,或成双,或三五成群。他们被领下楼,穿过迷宫般的昏暗楼道,来到车水马龙的北京街道之下。” 链接

酸酸甜甜

酸酸甜甜

文/ James Elaine
来源:洛杉矶汉默博物馆新闻与博客
2009年12月3日

“……学生们做了4000条HIV/艾滋红丝带、1000枚背胶标签、100副红丝带御寒耳罩,并设计了海报赠与798的所有画廊与商店。这是他们的第一个798‘一天无艺术’项目。9家画廊或艺术空间以不对公众开放的形式参加了12月1日的这个活动,包括了中国首家、也是最重要的艺术书商与出版商的东八时区书店。” 链接

Reading Room

Sometimes we work behind the scenes to coordinate and facilitate news.
Sometimes we work on the frontlines creating news.

Reading Room
Day Without Art featured on sino-us.com

Day Without Art featured on sino-us.com

By: Rebecca Lin
Source: sino-us.com
December 03, 2013

The US Embassy in China collaborated with a US art group and local museum to put on a 'Day Without Art' poster painting exhibition in Beijing on December 1, the World AIDS Day, to attract Chinese youth to creative arts and pay tribute to talented artists died of AIDS. The two sisters Megan and KC Connolly are from New York, and they represent the CHART Contemporary, a US art group now based in Beijing that calls to bring together art and people. Link

Day Without Art featured on uschinapress.com

Day Without Art featured on uschinapress.com

By: Rebecca Lin
Source: uschinapress.com
December 02, 2013

More than 200 high school students participated in Day Without Art poster-making workshop. After the event, more than 200 high school students were encouraged to draw on the wall about their feelings on AIDS and Day without art activities. Link

http://english.cntv.cn/program/newsupdate/20131201/104073.shtml

Day Without Art featured on CCTV News

By: Teressa Siu
Source: CCTV News
December 01, 2013

Some 200 students are taking part in a special art campaign to mark World AIDS Day. The event organizers are two American sisters, KC and Megan Connolly, who say China’s young students have an important mission ahead of them.They have one common goal for China,promoting AIDS awareness through art. We work with middle and high schools students. They are the real spokespeople. Link

Open House featured on Artspy.cn

Open House featured on Artspy.cn

Source: Artspy.cn
November 28, 2013

"Open House" is a series of carefully planned projects, reflecting ChART Contemporary’s mission of bringing together art & people. "Open House" in held within a space that is for rent, sale, or slated for demolition… Link

In Beijing, One –Child Policy’s Artistic Legacy

In Beijing, One –Child Policy’s Artistic Legacy

By: Debra Bruno
Source: Wall Street Journal Scene Asia Blog
November 22, 2013

Just as China announces plans to curtail its one-child policy, a new art exhibition in Beijing takes a look at the experience of being an only child – through the eyes of an artist whose work focuses on the lonely children of his generation… Link

Start Me Up – Entrepreneurs in the Middle Kingdom

Start Me Up – Entrepreneurs in the Middle Kingdom

By: Sarah Ting-Ting Hou
Source: City Weekend
September 2013

The art world is a competitive industry of raw talents that are all trying to gain exposure. The Connolly’s are already across three cities and plan on going even more global in the future, which also will bring on more challenges… Link

The 1,2,3s of 798

The 1,2,3s of 798

By: Sandra Ramani
Source: Premier Traveler USA
April 2013

…For Connolly, the must-sees of 798 vary depending on your tastes and what shows are happening … but some favorites include the Pace Gallery, whose cavernous, interconnecting galleries are well suited for showcasing large pieces … Italian-owned Gallery Continua is notable both for its edgy shows and its “architecturally significant space,” Connolly explained… Link

DESTINATION/2013

DESTINATION/2013

By: Sandra Ramani
Source: Houston magazine
January 2, 2013

...Modern Must: 798 Arts District, one of the most buzzed-about places in Beijing.... ChART runs informative walking tours of the area for newbies and art pros alike. Link

Chinese Artist Liu Bolin: The Internet’s Invisible Man

Chinese Artist Liu Bolin: The Internet’s Invisible Man

By: Dan Levin
Source: Newsweek Magazine
October 15, 2012

…His versatility as an artist defines the harmonious balance of skill and vision so attractive to collectors, says Megan Connolly, director of Chart Contemporary, a Beijing-based art consultancy…. Link

The Work of Art

The Work of Art

By: Lisa Nash
Source: Agenda Magazine
August 9, 2012

...Two New York City, bright pink lipstick-wearing sisters, KC Vienna (left) and Megan Connolly (right), have embraced Beijing’s vibrant art community. Their wonderfully creative business ChART Contemporary is like a work of art itself- challenging and helping change the present understandings of art in Beijing…. Link

Beijing's 798 District and unexpected artistic enclave

Beijing's 798 District and unexpected artistic enclave

By: Ben Roussel
Source: Travel Weekly
December 21, 2011

...Admittedly, being jet-lagged and not being a modern-art enthusiast myself, I was initially a bit apprehensive about my foray into 798. Fortunately, I had Connolly as my guide.
The neighborhood has a rich array of offerings in the way of galleries, exhibits, restaurants, cafes and event spaces, but it is fairly spread out, so having the right insider is crucial for making the best use of one's time. Link

The New China is as Enthralling as the Ancient One

The New China is as Enthralling as the Ancient One

By: Regina Baraban
Source: Meetings Net
December 20, 2011

...Asian art specialist Megan Connolly, an ex-pat from New York City who co-owns Chart Contemporary, a Beijing-based “curatorial lab,” can help to set up a function in one of the many high-end galleries and speak to your group about the flourishing contemporary Chinese art scene. Link

Fashion Kingdom

Fashion Kingdom

By: Melinda Liu
Source: Newsweek
April 3, 2011

“My mom wore an Army uniform day in and day out … I would ask to see family heirlooms, pieces of vintage embroidery, or anything old, but it was all destroyed.” In terms of style, Fu says, China’s younger generation is “going through a process of self-education.” They are beginning to see fashion “fused seamlessly with art, architecture, design, even cars,” says Megan Connolly who offer tours of Beijing’s art and culture scene with her sister KC. “Many Chinese today simply want to be surrounded with stylish things.” Link

Future Alternatives: Spaces for now

Future Alternatives: Spaces for now

By: Fiona He/ Translation: Du Keke
Source: LEAP Magazine
December 2010

"...At six o’clock in the evening of a particular open house, the installation comes down. This mere four hours of ephemeral existence of an art installation offers its audience a window of time and space to look at art from a different angle. Being alternative is as simple as challenging what exists by offering another way, be that through a fixed physical space, or physical spaces that manifest another conceptual model...." Link

A force in China's art scene: Megan Connolly, class of 2000, and her sister offer innovative ways to learn about contemporary Chinese Art

A force in China's art scene: Megan Connolly, class of 2000, and her sister offer innovative ways to learn about contemporary Chinese Art

By: Christina Barbara-Just
Source: Smith Alumnae Quarterly
Winter 2010-11

“...China’s 'new cultural golden age', as Megan calls it, has made it possible for ChART to grow rapidly. The sisters have already added modern architecture and design tours to their offerings, and they're full of ideas for future exhibitions and other projects.” Link

Students shroud art to mark World AIDS Day

Students shroud art to mark World AIDS Day

By: Huang Shaojie
Source: Global Times
December 2, 2010

…"Sanitation worker Sun Qijun had a ribbon pinned on his chest and a sticker on the rear of his garbage tricycle, but still inquired, "Isn't AIDS an American problem? Us Chinese don't have it, do we?"
Local villager Gao Wenzhen, 75, wondered if AIDS can be cured. Link

World AIDS Day 2010-Beijing's Day without Art

World AIDS Day 2010-Beijing's Day without Art

By: Andrea Hunt
Source: China Radio International
December 1, 2010

...."Every year, we hope that the initiative will grow not only in scale but also in the awareness that we can bring to the local community. Last year, there were 80 of us and we were in the 798 ArtDistrict. This year, we're going to Cao Changdi; because it's a place where the local community, the artists and the art galleries can really co exist." Link

Art or No Art? That is the Question

Art or No Art? That is the Question

By: Xing Yangjian
Source: Little Star Magazine
November, 2010

…BWYA art teacher KC Vienna Connolly has often taken her students to the galleries before, but this is the very first time for her students to see her own creations. KC exhibited her photography works including an interesting series of visitors to IKEA taking a nap on the beds on sale - called “Beijing, Make Yourself at Home”, which is an ongoing project that began in 2007 when KC first visited IKEA in Beijing.“I was inspired by China’s new-found materialism and this new interest in lifestyle trends. I began documenting visitors interacting with different show rooms and I spent many days inside the world’s 2nd largest IKEA here in Beijing. Link

TED Shares Ideas About City and Art Development

TED Shares Ideas About City and Art Development

By: Li Zhixin
Source: Beijing Today
September 17, 2010

…“We believe art belongs to everyone, so we decided to bring art outside of galleries for those who are too shy and timid to enter”, Megan said. It is important that people outside of galleries and the art scene are able to touch and experience art.” Link

BRILLIANT SMALL TALK

BRILLIANT SMALL TALK

By: Vera Penêda
Source: Global Times
September 14, 2010

...Inspired by these illuminati, local brilliant minds lit up the UCCA in 798 on Saturday, at the first edition of the TEDx798 Factory in Beijing. Under the topic "Insider-Outsider," four presenters had 18 minutes each to be smart as a whip. A selected audience of 70 learned how vigorous minds whir to change the world. Link

TED X FACTORY 798

TED X FACTORY 798

By: Joseph Foster Ellis and Ellen Cheng
September 11, 2010

...Megan and KC Vienna Connolly will be discussing their Open House series that presents new work by emerging artists and exhibits it in Beijing architecture that is either for rent, sale or abandoned. All taking place within the modern industrial landscape of China these exhibitions reference the public consumption of real estate and its similarities to the business of contemporary Chinese art. Link

OPEN HOUSE

OPEN HOUSE

By: Ou Mei Lin
Source: Artinfo
September 9, 2010

Last Friday, Artinfo reported on Open House , an ongoing exhibition series curated by the American sisters Megan and KC Connolly. Link

A ROOM OF ONE’S OWN – CHEN KE OPENS UP

A ROOM OF ONE’S OWN – CHEN KE OPENS UP

By: Madeleine O’Dea
Source: The Beijinger
May 2010

"Open House is the project of American curator sisters Megan and KC Connolly. Jaded with the normal avenues of exhibition, they came up with another idea. They knew Beijing was full of empty rooms that were slated for demolition or rent.” Link (Page 51)

OPEN HOUSE EXPERIENCE PLUMBS THE EXPERIENCE OF ART

OPEN HOUSE EXPERIENCE PLUMBS THE EXPERIENCE OF ART

By: Lara Farrar
Source: China Daily
April 12, 2010

"At 9:41 on a recent Sunday morning, the text message was sent: "Come to Fangyuan Xi Lu. Right of the Sunny Golden Market. Left of the U&D Jewelry. Underground 20A near Sculpting in Time Cafe. Call for assistance. Time: 2 to 6 pm. The recipients of the message arrived one by one, sometimes in pairs or a few groups of three or so. They were led down stairs, through a maze of dimly lit corridors deep below Beijing's busy streets." Link

SWEET & SOUR

SWEET & SOUR

By: James Elaine
Source: Hammer Museum News & Blogs
December 3, 2009

"...The students made 4000 HIV/AIDS red ribbons, 1000 stickers, 100 red-ribbon earmuffs, and designed a poster for all of the shops and galleries in 798. This is their first 798 Day Without Art intervention. 9 galleries or spaces, including Timezone 8 bookstore, the first and most important art bookseller and publisher in China, participated on December 1st by closing to the public." Link